Professional Team

Simon Yu
Partner

Email
simon.yu@everbrightlaw.com
Scope of Business
Simon Yu has been primarily focusing on areas including the prevention and resolution of legal risks in commercial area;Corporate Compliance and Anti-fraud investigation for transnational corporations;criminal defense for major economic crime cases.
Main Background
Partner, Ph.D of Fudan University, Visiting Scholar of Yale University , Membership of Shanghai Society of Criminology.

Simon Yu has worked at Public Security Organs for seven years, he used to be a Chief Investigator, Intelligence Analyst of the Economic Crime Investigation Department of Shanghai Public Security Bureau. He has independently handled economic crime cases such as contract fraud, credit card fraud, illegally absorbing public savings, professional embezzlement, misappropriation of funds, commercial bribery etc. He has also participated in several major transnational economic crime cases which were under the direct jurisdiction of Ministry of Public Security of China. Accordingly, Simon has gained a profound understanding of investigation tactics and skills of commercial crimes. He has been awarded several individual honors by Shanghai Public Security Bureau during his serving period.

From 2013 to 2014,as the sole representative of the Legal Community of the Greater China, Simon Yu was selected to join the visiting program which was fully funded by Fox Foundation of Yale University, and severed as Visiting Fellow of McMillan Regional Research Center at Yale, the research subject was “Comparative Legal Study of Exit Mechanism of the Sino-US Private Equity Fund”. Besides, he has also published “Study of Risks within Duty Crimes under VIE Mode”,“Study of Exit Mechanism of German Private Equity Fund” and some other professional papers on national core law journals such as “Chinese Lawyer” and “Contemporary Finance & Economics” etc.

2016 June, Simon Yu was admitted by UK Bar Council, got enrolled in the Bar Council Training Scheme for Chinese lawyers. Where he accepted academic training in BPP law school of London, and practical training in 3 Raymond Buildings for several weeks, which is one of the oldest chambers in London. Simon Yu is the first criminal lawyer who got enrolled since this training scheme been set up 25 years ago.

Simon Yu is now living in Shanghai with his wife and two daughters.
Acting Major Cases
Misappropriation of Fund committed by one well-known Private Equity Fund Manager;

Illegal Operation of Business committed by one medical device company;

Contract Fraud with the amount over hundreds of million committed by one construction company;

News Extortion aimed at companies who’s planing to be listed committed by the 21 Century Website;

Illegally Absorbing Public Savings committed by one well-known P2P Internet loan company;

Misappropriation of Fund, Professional Embezzlement committed by a founder of one notable lighting brand;

Relying on profound understanding of criminal relationship and pragmatic defense style, Simon Yu has often managed to help clients to be released on bail pending trial. Besides, courts have adopted exculpatory defense opinion presented by Simon during the course of trial on many occasions.
Non-litigation Cases Represented
Representing U.S IDG Capital’s Compliance Investigation against one of its well-known investment project;

Representing German Nivea ( Shanghai ) co., Ltd’s internal compliance investigation against one of its senior manager;

Representing U.S Avon(China)co., Ltd’s internal investigation against its employee’s fraud;

Representing a leading German maritime facilities manufacturer’s legal audit project against its Chinese branch;

Crisis Management for one Austria food machinery manufacturer who was infringed by one phone fraud in China;

Crisis Management for Guangzhou Branch of China Railway Materials Company who was infringed by one contract fraud which caused 200 million loss.

Having dealt with various Corporate Compliance Projects, and combined with his unique background of working at Economic Crime Investigation Department for years, Simon Yu developed a set of standardized investigation method which proves to be very effective. Taking advantage of his extraordinary perceptiveness and outstanding capability of evident searching, he often manages to make breakthroughs when projects reach a deadlock by acquiring key evidence that directly determines the project’s success or failure.

专业团队

虞思明   合伙人

Email
simon.yu@everbrightlaw.com
关注微信二维码
业务范围
虞思明律师目前主要专注于商业领域刑事法律风险的预防与化解、跨国公司内部合规管理及反舞弊专项调查、重大复杂经济犯罪案件的刑事辩护等领域。
主要背景介绍
合伙人律师,复旦大学法学博士,美国耶鲁大学访问学者,上海市犯罪学学会会员。
虞思明律师有七年的公安工作经历,曾任上海市公安局经济犯罪侦查总队主办侦查员、情报分析专员等职,独立侦办过合同诈骗、信用卡诈骗、非法吸收公众存款、职务侵占、挪用资金、商业贿赂等众多类型的经济犯罪案件,并参与多起公安部直接管辖的跨国经济犯罪大案,对商业领域犯罪案件的侦办思路及办案技巧有着深刻的理解,曾多次荣获上海市公安局个人嘉奖。
2013年至2014年,虞思明律师作为大中华地区法律界的唯一代表,入选美国耶鲁大学FOX基金会全额资助的访学项目,并担任耶鲁大学麦克米兰区域研究中心客座研究员,课题为中美私募基金退出机制法律比较研究。虞思明律师在《中国律师》、《当代财经》等全国法学核心期刊上发表过《VIE模式下的职务犯罪风险研究》、《德国私募基金退出机制研究》等多篇专业论文。
2016年6月至8月,虞思明律师经过层层选拔,入选英国律师公会(UK Bar Council)的中国律师培训计划(BCTS),在BPP法学院伦敦校区接受跨国争议解决的学术训练,并在伦敦当地一家具有90余年历史的老牌律师事务所3 Raymond Buildings接受了长达数周的实务培训。虞思明律师是该培训计划启动25年以来,首位入选的刑事领域律师。
虞思明律师目前与太太及两个女儿在上海生活。
代理过的重大案件
某知名私募基金经理挪用资金案;
某医疗器械公司非法经营案;
21世纪网新闻敲诈拟上市企业案;
某建筑工程公司案值超亿元的合同诈骗案;
某知名P2P网贷公司非法吸收公众存款案;
中国某著名照明品牌创始人挪用资金、职务侵占案。

虞律师在刑事辩护案件的代理中,凭借其对刑事法律关系的深刻理解和务实的辩护风格,多次为当事人成功申请取保候审,其在庭审过程中提出的无罪或罪轻的辩护意见,也多次被法庭所采纳。
代理过的主要非诉讼案件
美国IDG资本对其旗下某知名投资项目的合规调查;
德国妮维雅(上海)有限公司某高管的内部合规调查;
美国雅芳(中国)有限公司员工舞弊的内部调查;
德国一家具有百年历史的防火材料企业在华生产基地的法务审计;
奥地利某食品机械制造商在华被电信诈骗的危机处置;
中国铁路物资总公司广州分公司被他人合同诈骗2亿人民币的危机处置。

虞律师在企业合规项目的调查中,结合其曾在警方经济犯罪侦查部门任职多年的独特背景,发展出一套行之有效的规范化调查路径。虞律师敏锐的调查思维和出众的取证能力,经常在项目陷入僵局时打开局面,为客户企业获取决定项目成败的关键性直接证据。